Areas We cover

move to the south west


Somerset is a rural county comprised of rolling hills such as the Blackdown's, Mendip's, Quantock's and Exmoor National Park, and large flat expanses of land including the Somerset Levels. Somerset borders Gloucestershire to the north, Wiltshire to the east, Dorset to the south-east and Devon to the south-west. It is bounded to the north and west by the Bristol Channel and the estuary of the River Severn, and its coastline faces southeastern Wales. Somerset's county town is Taunton.

move to Somerset


Dorset has a varied landscape featuring broad elevated chalk downs, steep limestone ridges and low-lying clay valleys. Over half the county is designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and three-quarters of its coastline is a World Heritage Site that features many notable landforms such as Lulworth Cove, Chesil Beach and Durdle Door. Dorset borders Devon to the west, Somerset to the north-west, Wiltshire to the north-east, and Hampshire to the east. Dorset's county town is Dorchester.

move to Dorset


Devon's north and south coasts each have both cliffs and sandy shores, and the county's bays contain seaside resorts, fishing towns, and ports. The inland terrain is rural, generally hilly, and is defined by the stunning Dartmoor National Park. Devon stretches from the Bristol Channel in the north to the English Channel in the south. It is bounded by Cornwall to the west, Somerset to the northeast, and Dorset to the east. The City of Exeter is the county town, but notable centres include Plymouth and Torbay.

move to Devon


Cornwall is noted for its wild moorland landscapes, its long and varied coastline, its attractive villages, and its very mild climate. Extensive stretches of Cornwall's coastline, and Bodmin Moor, are protected as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Cornwall is a peninsula bordered to the north and west by the Celtic Sea, to the south by the English Channel, and to the east by the county of Devon, over the River Tamar. Cornwall's county town, and only city, is Truro.

move to Cornwall
Ariel view of the Isles of Scilly

Isles of Scilly

The Isles of Scilly form an archipelago of five inhabited islands and numerous other small rocky islets (around 140 in total) lying 45 km (28 mi) off Land's End. Scilly forms part of the ceremonial county of Cornwall and In 1975 were designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Isles of Scilly has one of the mildest climates in the United Kingdom. The average annual temperature is 11.8 °C (53.2 °F) and winters are among the warmest in the country due to the moderating effects of the ocean.

move to Isles of Scilly
Gorey Castle in Jersey, Channel Islands

Channel Islands

The Channel Islands are a cluster of islands located around 100 miles (160km) south of mainland Britain, close to the French coast of Normandy. They include two separate bailiwicks: the Bailiwick of Jersey and the Bailiwick of Guernsey. The islands are commonly associated with hidden beaches, lush valleys, tranquil lanes and dramatic coastline all basking in the warmest temperatures of any British territory. Jersey is the largest of the islands, with a vibrant capital, St. Helier, closely followed by Guernsey.

move to Channel Islands


did you know?

For those seeking a new property in the countryside, the South West has many attractive towns and cities offering a wide range of homes, often with views over adjacent coastline or estuaries. We can advise on a particular geographical area and we can search for a specific property - or just negotiate the purchase of a property you have found.

5.3 Million







South West